Governing organizations

CREAF is a public research center which exists as a consortium between different public entities (administrations, universities, and research centers and institutes).


The Board of Trustees of CREAF

The head governing body is the Board of Trustees in which there are representatives of the Universitat Autònoma de Barcelona (UAB), the Universitat de Barcelona (UB), the Institute for Catalan Studies (IEC), the Institute for Food Research and Technology (IRTA), the Supreme Council for Scientific Research (CSIC) and four departments of the Generalitat of Catalonia: Territory and Sustainability (DTES), Agriculture, Livestock, Fisheries, Food and Environment (DARP), Economy and Knowledge (DEC) and Interior (DI). The President of the Board of Trustees is the Secretary of Environment and Sustainability (Generalitat of Catalonia) and the Secretary of the Board of Trustees is the Director of CREAF.

President of the Board of Trustees

Secretari of the Board of Trustees

  • Mr. Javier Retana, Director of CREAF

Membres of the Board of Trustees

  • Ms. Margarita Arboix Arzo, Rector of UAB

  • Mr. Dídac Ramírez, Rector of UB

  • Mr. Joandomènec Ros Aragonès, President of IEC

  • Mr. Emilio Lora-Tamayo, President of CSIC

  • Ms. Montserrat Barniol Carcasona, General Director of Forests (DARP)

  • Mr. Joan Nogué i Font, Director of the Landscape Observatory

  • Mr. Ferran Miralles i Sabadell, General Director of Environmental Policy (DTES)

  • Mr. Arcadi Navarro i Cuartiellas, Secretary of Universities and Research (DEC)

  • Mr. Juli Gendrau i Farguell, General Director of Prevention and Extinction of Forest Fires (DI)

  • Mr. Lluís Rovira, Director of the Foundation I-CERCA

  • Mr. Jaume Terradas, CREAF


Board of Directors of CREAF

The Board of Directors is named by the Board of Trustees and handles day-to-day issues of the Center. It is presided by the Director of CREAF and the Secretary is the Deputy Director of CREAF. 

President of the Board of Directors

  • Mr. Javier Retana, Director of CREAF 

Secretary of the Board of Directors

  • Mr. Joan Pino, Deputy Director of CREAF and professor of UAB

Members of the Board of Directors


  • Mr. Xavier Bellés, CSIC
  • Ms. Agustina Guiteras, Department of Economy and Knowledge (DEC)
  • Mr. Lluís Rovira, Fundació I-CERCA
  • Mr. Marc Castellnou, Department of Interior (DI)
  • Mr. Xavier Clopés, Department of Agriculture, Livestock, Fisheries and Environment (DARP)
  • Mr. Santiago Sabaté, UB